City of Harrisonville Municipal Court
Due to poor weather conditions forecast for Wednesday (2/17), the Harrisonville Municipal Court will not be in session this week.
All cases on the February 17, docket will automatically be continued to the March 17 docket.
All online court features such as: online payment and reviewing ticket information will continue to be available and the Municipal Court window at City Hall will be open for its regular hours.
- Pay your citation by debit/credit card
- View your ticket information or search a court docket
- If your amount due shows $29.50, then that case is a mandatory court appearance and payment will not be accepted until you have either pleaded guilty or been found guilty. Please call the Court office if you need more information.
- View the fine schedule
- Know your rights brochure (PDF)
- Bail and Pretrial Release Order (PDF)
- Violations Bureau Order (PDF)
- Trial De Novo Procedure (PDF)
Court sessions are usually held on the first and third Wednesdays of the month at Harrisonville City Hall, 300 E Pearl Street.
- Attorney Plea Docket is at 4:30 p.m.
- Regular Docket is at 5:30 p.m.
- Trials will be held during the Regular Docket
The Harrisonville Municipal Court handles all traffic and City ordinance violations written by the Harrisonville Police Department, Animal Control and Code Enforcement.
If a ticket was written by the Missouri State Highway Patrol or by the Cass County Sheriff’s Department, please contact the Cass County Circuit Court at (816) 380-8227.
The Harrisonville Municipal Court received a rating of "Good" from Missouri State Auditor Nicole Galloway, CPA, following its official audit in 2016.
Interested persons may read the Citizens Summary and the Full Report on the State Auditor’s website (PDF).
For a schedule of standard fines that may be paid without a court appearance, refer to the envelope that was provided along with the citation.
Certain violations require a court appearance and cannot be paid in advance. If your offense does not appear on the fine schedule, you may contact the court at (816) 380-8903, to verify.
If the ticket is payable and is received in our office before the court date indicated at the top left corner of the ticket, no court appearance is required.
If your payment is past due, or your case is in warrant status you must contact the court to verify the payment.
A court appearance is required if you are requesting time to pay.
Please direct all questions regarding the status of your case to the Harrisonville Municipal Court at 816-380-8903.
If the dollar amount shown on your case is $29.50, the case is not payable through the violations bureau and you will be required to appear in court on the assigned court date.
Acceptable forms of payment
Online - You must have your ticket number and the amount due.
Phone - 1-877-222-0377 You must have your ticket number and the amount due.
Mail - Harrisonville Municipal Court
P.O. Box 367
Harrisonville, MO 64701
Make check or money order payable to City of Harrisonville
In person - City Hall, 300 E Pearl Street, Harrisonville, MO 64701
If someone else is paying your fine with a personal check or with a debit/credit card, they must be present with their photo ID.
Unwrapped or loose coins in excess of $5 will not be accepted.
Defendants may request one continuance over the phone for an initial arraignment. This is the only continuance that can be granted over the phone by the clerk. Contact the Municipal Court at (816) 380-8903.
All other continuances must be requested before the judge on the assigned court date.
The judge cannot take telephone calls or see defendants outside of a courtroom. Continuances left on voicemail will not be granted.
The Municipal Court office does not answer telephone calls after 3 p.m. on the day of court.
Fail to provide proof financial responsibility citations (no insurance)
If you have been charged with the offense of No Proof of Financial Responsibility (no insurance), but had insurance on the date that you received the ticket, you can send a copy of your insurance card via email firstname.lastname@example.org, fax to 816-380-8910, or by bringing a copy of it to the court office before your court date to have your ticket dismissed.
Failure to appear
Failure to either pre-pay of appearing on an assigned court date to dispose of an offense could result in a warrant being issued for your arrest and you may be required to post bond. A failure to appear or pay for your offense may be reported to your state licensing authority and your driving privilege could be suspended.
To get a license back after a failure to appear in court for traffic violation (FACT) suspension, you will be required to show proof of compliance and pay a $20 reinstatement fee, per offense, to the Missouri Department of Revenue, Driver’s License Bureau.
The court may place a hold on your driver’s license so that you cannot apply for a new or duplicate drivers license. In order for the hold to be removed, you must dispose of your citation by paying the fines and court costs due, or by complying with conditions of your probation. The court will send a notification to the Missouri Department of Revenue, Driver’s License Bureau once all requirements have been met. A $20 reinstatement fee is not required.
If you receive a ticket while traveling out of state, the Missouri Department of Revenue can suspend your license for failure to pay tickets issued anywhere in the United States.
If you have failed to pay your offense or appear in court, please contact the court office at (816) 380-8903.
Points assessed on driver’s license
Points are assessed on a license by the Missouri Department of Revenue.
The Harrisonville Municipal Court has no authority over the Missouri Point System. Find the current points table and other license information.
The Municipal Court does not have access to the number of points assessed on a license. You may contact the MDoR at (573) 526-2407 to find non-personal information, such as traffic tickets and suspension/revocation.
All attorneys must complete entry of appearance before commencing representation of a defendant.
All pleas agreements must go through the City Prosecutor. A plea agreement form signed by the City Prosecutor and the Attorney/Defendant must be presented at the time of disposition to the court.
The attorney plea docket starts at 4:30 p.m. on the assigned court date.