News Flash


Posted on: October 8, 2018

Harrisonville Electric Department 1 of 8 MPUA members to receive RP3 designation


The City of Harrisonville is proud to announce that the Harrisonville Electric Department is one of eight Missouri Public Utility Alliance members to earn a 2018 Reliable Public Power Provider designation from the American Public Power Association.

The designation was presented at the 2018 MPUA Annual Conference at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Bearch, MO, on Friday, Oct. 4.

Only 118 of the nation’s more than 2,000 public power utilities earned the honor.

The designation will last for three years and recognizes public power utilities that have demonstrated their proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development and system improvement.

The other Missouri cities who received the designation were Columbia, Hannibal, Jackson, Kirkwood, Macon, Monett and one city that was not listed on the . Other Missouri cities who are still under previous designations (within the past three years) include: Carthage, Fulton, Independence, Marshall, Nixa, Rolla and Springfield.

To see the full list of designated cities, click here.